Ribbon Around The Bomb
Release Date: April 29th 2022
Sold out
3000 / 3000 sales



  • Exclusive zoetrope picture disc edition
  • First 1,500 copies signed by the band
  • Hand-numbered to order
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Limited to 3,000 copies

Blossoms upcoming fourth studio album Ribbon Around The Bomb comes exclusively pressed to zoetrope picture disc via Blood Records, with the first 1,500 copies will be signed by the band.

Ribbon Around The Bomb is the first new music from Blossoms since 'Care For',  which was made the ‘Hottest Record’ by Radio 1. Their 2016 debut Blossoms topped the album charts for two consecutive weeks and went on to earn the band BRIT Award and Mercury Prize nominations, while 2018’s Cool Like You charted at Number 4 in the UK album chart, spawning the anthemic singles I Can’t Stand It, There’s A Reason Why (I Never Returned Your Calls) and How Long Will This Last? Their third studio album, 2020’s Foolish Loving Spaces was the band’s second UK Number 1 album

Speaking about the new album Tom Ogden said: While on tour in 2019 in Mexico, I visited Frida Kahlo’s house. Looking at her paintings on show, someone had described one of them as being like a ‘ribbon around a bomb’."

"I immediately thought that it was a great title for a song and album because of the imagery that it evoked in my mind. I thought about how lots of things in life could be described as being a ribbon around a bomb in the sense that as people we often dress things up which have a darkness lying beneath them." 

The band’s new album is produced by their consistent and renowned collaborators James Skelly and Rich Turvey and revolves around a central character ‘The Writer’. 

Standout tracks on the record include Ode To NYC, described by Tom as ‘a love letter to my favourite city, as well as my wife’, The Writer which deals with the fear of and frustration associated with writers block and Everything About You, one of the album’s only love songs, which Tom says is ‘as honest as they come’. Visions meanwhile contains one of the album’s key lyrics ‘Was I complete at 23’, as Tom explains. ’At 23 I had just had a number 1 album and begun my relationship with my now wife Katie. Reflecting on what I’d achieved at such a young age left me wondering, what now?’  

Blossoms are playing a series of live shows in the UK this summer, including headline appearances at Y Not? and Truck Festival, as well as a run of support dates with The Killers. Please note that Blood Records is a pre-ordering platform and this record is due for release on April 29th 2022. All images for illustrative purposes. 


  1. The Writer’s Theme
  2. Ode To NYC 
  3. Ribbon Around The Bomb 
  4. The Sulking Poet 
  5. Born Wild 
  6. The Writer 
  7. Everything About You 
  8. Care For  
  9. Cinerama Holy Days 
  10. Edith Machinist 
  11. Visions 
  12. The Last Chapter 

More Drops

Liam Gallagher & John Squire

Liam Gallagher John Squire

Vampire Weekend

Only God Was Above Us

Twenty One Pilots


Kings Of Leon

Can We Please Have Fun